Is ALL water a wishing well?

I have this theory which seems to bear out no matter where I travel to in the UK…..

When I was a child I used to throw pennies into wishing wells and make a wish. As I grew up I noticed the security protecting the coins getting stronger (however, I digress).

What I have noticed now for a number of years is that any expanse of water contained in a public place becomes a public wishing well. You may notice that all of these places have coins thrown into them. These include water features in shopping centres as well as water fountains outside.

What happened to the good old wishing well and why do people find an urge to thrown money anywhere where there is water?

Leave a Reply

