YouOS online OS

Rohan Pinto recently blogged here about a new online OS that he had come across, YouOS.

Under his recommendation, I had a look as a demo user and must say from a pure ‘technical geek’ point of view I was impressed.

From the comments on Rohan’s site, YouOS certainly doesn’t seem to be the first web based OS, although it is the first that I have come across. My main thoughts about the OS were:

1) Easy to use
2) Fast to load
3) Like the session continuation

Like Rohan says, I can’t see it being long before YouOS or some other similar company get snapped up by Google.

I do have concerns over long term usability. I found it an interesting new toy but aren’t sure that I would actually use it everyday. First and foremost would be my concern over my data being held online. I like to keep my data locally where I can keep track of it. I’m sure YouOS will eventually offer some type of encryption but for now I do see it as a major concern.

However, I will watch with interest to see where the product goes in the near future.

Leave a Reply

